Metablogging

I blog, therefore I reflect.

A blog is a reflection. But what about reflecting about blogging? Why should we blog?

As professionals, learners, knowledge enthusiasts and digital citizens, blogging opens a new world for us. That is why I decided to think about my blogging. And, in the process, I found some interesting resources that helped me put my thoughts together.

bloggingBecause, as Lorelle estates:

“Your blog is your unedited version of yourself.”

and…

“Yes, blogging is entertainment. It is performance. Each blog post a show, sometimes an opera, sometimes a 30 second commercial. Like a show, it may start with a bang, lead you along from song to song, have a great climatic moment, then leave the audience wanting more.”

Picture attribution: Licht, NotionsCapital.com, Mike. Rosie the Blogger. 2007. Photograph. Flickr. Yahoo!, 14 May 2008. Web. 18 Apr. 2013.

Lorelle, what an excellent resource of never-ending information! http://lorelle.wordpress.com/

But, what really summarizes what I consider to be the key components of teacher blogging is beautifully explained in Henrietta’s wonderful Prezi. Thanks Henrietta!

http://prezi.com/fvspygmjnhov/why-should-teachers-blog/

Why blogging? Blogging to become better educators, to improve our practices, to reflect on our approaches, to share, to showcase our classroom, and to provide a better educational experience day after day, year after year. Blogging rocks!

One thought on “Metablogging

  1. I have only gotten into blogging recently as part of my academic program at Full Sail. I can see the value of sharing ideas with other educators as part of a Personal Learning Network, but didn’t think I would get enough followers to my blog if I started one.

Leave a Reply

